Why Christianity?

Why ChristianityI’m going to start off my blog with a couple of posts entitled “Why…?”, basically explaining my beliefs and the reasons behind them. The first one in this “series”, if you will, is “Why Christianity?” It’s something I wrote down after a youth camp almost a year ago, where we were asked the question, “Why Jesus?” to get us thinking.

I think the question is best summed up by something my parents told me when I was small. I must have been about four or five, and I asked them, “What makes what we believe so different from what everyone else does?”

I was raised a Christian, but as a child, I was exposed to many other religions. In kindergarten, my best friend as a Hindu. Throughout primary school, being a Christian was the exception – I was surrounded by people from all sorts of faiths, from atheism to Islam to Buddhism. So what’s so different about Christianity?

The answer my father gave me when I asked this question as a small child was, “All the other religions are about man seeking God. Christianity is about God seeking man.”

I’ve found that this simple statement rings quite true. So many other religions are about people trying to be perfect, or to be good enough for God to let them into Heaven. There are all sorts of requirements that they need to fulfil; all sorts of things they need to do, most of which are completely useless, and also quite impossible.

Humans are sinners by nature. It says so in a couple of places in the Bible, but I’m only going to quote two places right now. The first is Romans 3:23 – “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” The second is from Isaiah 64:6 – “We are all unclean with sin, and all of our righteous deeds are like filthy rags.” There’s not much we can do about this – it’s just the way it is. And as Isaiah says, we can try not to sin, we can try to do our best, but in the end, our best simply isn’t good enough – it’s not even close. There’s no way that we could get into Heaven by our own works, let alone get God to love us!

And that’s what makes Christianity so special. Where so many other religions worship a god (or gods) who is standoffish, arrogant, and demanding, our God loves us so much that He turned Himself into a human and died horribly just so that there was a way we could live with Him in eternity (John 3:16)! How wonderful is that?

3 thoughts on “Why Christianity?

  1. BookSquirt says:

    I’d never heard that reason before! I’ll have to share that with my family. 🙂

  2. kathyinmo1 says:

    Your father sounds very wise. That is a great explanation.

  3. […] when I first started this blog, I did a series of “Why…?” posts, such as “Why Christianity?”, “Why Headcovering?” and “Why Chooks?” I said I was going to do a […]

Leave a Reply

