7 Quick Reasons Why I Would Never Join An Amish Church

If you do a quick google search of the Amish, you invariably come across countless people who make comments along the lines of “I’d love to join the Amish! I love their way of life!”. Most probably aren’t even Christians! I think a lot of people probably think I fall into this category, too, since I wear so-called “Amish” dresses and a headcovering. Anyway, here are my top reasons for NOT wanting to become Amish.

1-Many Amish believe in salvation by works rather than salvation by faith.

2-The Amish have a lot of rules – the “Ordnung” which govern their daily lives. Whilst many of these rules DO have roots in the Bible, many don’t.

3-To be honest, I don’t think Amish dresses are very modest. Seriously! A lot of Amish ladies, particularly around the Lancaster County area I visited, wore very short skirts and tight bodices.

4-Amish headcoverings don’t often actually cover your head.

5-The Amish don’t allow musical instruments. I don’t think I could live without music. I tried once. I lasted less than a week.

6-When the Amish are baptised, they’re actually making a vow to a specific church – They’re not symbolising new life IN GOD, but a commitment to a church community and its rules. If their path with God leads them away from that one church, they will be shunned. Also, to my knowledge, the Amish don’t baptise by immersion – they sort of ladle water onto someone’s head.

7-There aren’t any Amish in Australia. And I don’t want to live in America.

That said, if I lived in America, I wouldn’t rule out the possibility of joining (or at least attending) a Mennonite church. There are a number of differences between the Amish and the Mennonites, and I think I actually have a lot in common with the beliefs of some Mennonite churches (If I actually visited or attending a Mennonite church, I might change my mind. I don’t know, really)… and a lot of Anabaptist churches. But not the Amish.

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Reasons Why I Would Never Join An Amish Church

  1. If you are interested in visiting a conservative Mennonite church in Australia, there is at least one that I know of. I don’t think they actually call themselves Mennonites, but their theology is the same the best I can tell. Here is their website: http://australianchristianbrotherhood.org/

  2. Rachel says:

    Yes, I’ve seen their website. I’ve also heard of some negative experience with them, but I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt and if I’m ever in that part of Queensland over a Sunday I would consider visiting (not that I’m in Queensland very often – I’ve only been once in my life). I tried to subscribe to their newsletter once but I never got it, so go figure.

    I believe there’s also a conservative Mennonite church in Tasmania, as well as a Hutterite(-like) community. Some links are http://takemehomecountryroads-lynda.blogspot.com.au/2012/02/annual-mennonite-conference-in-tasmania.html, http://takemehomecountryroads-lynda.blogspot.com.au/2013/09/mennonite-info-for-jessie-and-all-who.html (both from the blog of a Christian lady ‘with Mennonite leanings’ who attends the Mennonite church there on and off), http://www.australia.anabaptistmennonites.org/ (the official website), and http://thecommonlife.com.au/c/ (for the Hutterite-ish community).

    I had opportunity while I was in Spain to speak to a Mennonite man (it was a little odd – I was walking to school, and suddenly a stranger calls out from behind me, asking [in Spanish] whether I was Mennonite. Once we established that I had no idea what he was saying [the word for ‘Mennonite’ in Spanish is very similar, but so far from anything I was learning or thinking about at that point that I didn’t understand what he was asking], he switched to English and asked if I were Mennonite “because my mother dresses like that”). I explained that I wasn’t, I was a non-denominational Christian, and that I might be Mennonite, if there were a church closer that three days’ drive and a ferry ride away. He was a little surprised to learn that I was so far away from any Mennonite church.

  3. David says:

    Hi Rachel,

    I have enjoyed reading your blog, both spiritual articles and those about Gaelic. Your knowledge about various languages is quite remarkable.

    My wife and I are members of the Church in Gympie. You would be very welcome to worship with us when in Queensland. Our Church holds a conference every year in September, which is something you might enjoy attending.

    The Nationwide Church in Tasmania also holds two conferences every year – one in Sydney and one in Tasmania. I have attended the conference in Sydney for the last three years and have been greatly encouraged by the brothers and sisters who come from Tasmania, the US and Canada. Unfortunately, both conferences have already been held this year, but I’m sure they would enjoy having you visit their Church any Sunday as well.

    I have never met Peter Hoover myself (from Rocky Cape), but I have heard very nice things from people who have visited.

    I’m sorry you tried to subscribe to the Church newsletter but never received anything. Feel free to try again or to contact the Church directly via the mobile number on the website. To my knowledge, Church newsletters have only been sent out very rarely in the past few years, but the Seed of Truth and other Christian magazines are mailed out regularly and you may be interested in receiving them.

    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

