Being Silly With “Twinkle, Twinkle”

So, yesterday I posted about Mozart’s variations on “Ah, vous dirai-je, maman!”. Well, I can never remember the words to even the first verse of this:

Ah! Vous dirai-je, maman,            (Ah! I tell you, mum,)
Ce qui cause mon tourment.          (What torments me.)
Papa veut que je raisonne,             (Dad wants me to reason)
Comme une grande personne.       (Like a great person.)
Moi, je dis que les bonbons            (But I say that lollies)
Valent mieux que la raison.           (Are better than reason.)

So, whilst trying to the song today, I ended up with something that sounded rather more like this:

Ah! Vous dirai-je, maman,            (Ah! I tell you, mum,)
Je ne sais pas les mots                 (I don’t know the words
.         
de cette chanson,                                       to this song)
Parce que je suis anglaise,            (Because I’m English)
Et je ne parle pas français.           (And I don’t speak French)
Ah! Vous dirai-je, maman,            (Ah! I tell you, mum,)
Je ne sais pas les mots                 (I don’t know the words
.         
de cette chanson.                                       to this song)

It fits best to Mozart’s VAR IX, because of the extra words in the second and last lines.

Leave a Reply

