The Tenth Day

My old zapatillos - €3,90

My old zapatillos – €3,90

Well, the highlight of the morning was my shoes breaking during pausa (recess). I managed to fix them with celo (sticky tape) long enough to last half-way up the street the chino (cheap shop) is on after school, where I bought some new ones.

My new zapatillos - €4,10

My new zapatillos – €4,10

I’m not particularly bothered. They were very cheap, anyway, and in their eight days of life, they’ve probably seen more walking than I would usually do in a month or three, what with going to Toledo as well as getting lost in Salamanca a couple of times.

While the new ones are of the same squidgy plastic stuff as the old ones, they’re a different style. These buckle-closure things look like they’ll hold up better than the old ones. Not that it really matters, with on a handful of days left in Salamanca.

… Then again, they probably would have lasted longer if I hadn’t had a spinny-chair race with French-American Gabriel (because there are two Gabriels) in the coffee room during pausa. His excuse was that he’s fifteen. My excuse was that there was chocolate.

Anyway, this evening I went out and cooked paella. I was meant to do it at the school tomorrow night, but some places opened up at Salamanca School of Hospitality for three people to go to classes there tonight. We put our names on a bit of paper and Xili pulled them out of a hat. I won.

Here are the pics. My group made vegetarian paella. You’ll see at the end that it doesn’t look as paella-y as everyone else’s.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The four paellas

The four paellas

The cooking class.

The cooking class.

After eating.

After eating.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Tenth Day

  1. You had a spinny chair race? Where’s the real Rachel?

  2. Rachel says:

    It wasn’t really a spinny-chair race. It was more of a mucking around with spinny chairs. There isn’t enough room for a race, and people kept walking through…

    Also, you’ve obviously never seen me at home with mum’s desk chair.

Leave a Reply

