The Fifth Leg (Sydney – Adelaide)

QANTAS were, as I mentioned, very good about getting me on the next available flight. Well, you’d hope so, considering they have flights between Sydney and Adelaide going every forty-five minutes or so. Yes, there’s quite an upside to airline alliances and code-sharing. I got on the 9:45 flight, which arrived in Adelaide at 11:20.

I had enough time in the QANTAS domestic terminal to ring home and buy a donut (Krispy Kreme), so that was good.

I couldn’t tell you much about the flight – I was pretty out of it. I didn’t sleep, but I’m not sure I was entirely conscious. That was all right, though. You know how they leave the back row of the ‘plane free for last-minute passengers? Well, the entire back row (with the exception of one UM) had just come off the delayed flight from Heathrow. So, there you have it, an entire flight of happily awake, correctly time-zoned individuals from Sydney who’d slept in to the normal hour before going to the airport — and the back row of bag-eyed, largely unresponsive, somewhat fed-up transfers from the other side of the world. Yep, most of the back row slept the whole way to Adelaide.

I must say, however, I do like Adelaide. It’s so nice to fly into Adelaide and see the lovely green-ness of the city (a nice contrast from all the other cities I’ve flown into, which are largely rooftops). And then you get to the airport, and it’s so tiny that it’s easy to navigate and impossible to get lost in… Yeah, Adelaide’s got to be right up there on my list of favourite places to fly into (or out of).

So, there you have it: the much-delayed finale to my adventures in Spain.

One thought on “The Fifth Leg (Sydney – Adelaide)

  1. I just wanted to tell you that I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award at http://annarosemeeds.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/the-versatile-blogger-award/. 🙂

Leave a Reply

