This Weekend’s Food

It’s been a while since I’ve done a food post, hasn’t it? You can read some of my past cooking adventures here: fried rice, spaghetti bolognaise, apricot chicken, leftovers pasta, and “sausage men“.

In the wake of yesterday’s chapel shared lunch “bring a soup” at uni, where we went with a saucepan of pumpkin, carrot and sweep potato soup, and came back with half a saucepan of someone else’s tomato soup, we wondered what to do with it. We’re having guests over for lunch both days this weekend, and inspiration struck us: butter chicken!

The recipe was simple enough: about two cups of tomato soup, a scoop of butter (or, in our case, Nuttelex), chopped chicken and carrots, and several shakes each of ginger, cumin, cloves, cardamom, cinnamon, paprika, and black pepper. It all went into the crock-pot and simmered overnight.

Unfortunately, I didn’t think to take any pictures before it was almost all eaten up. It went down very well, but there was just enough left to put in a lunchbox for Tuesday:

Tuesday's Lunch

Tuesday’s Lunch

Our other planned meal for the weekend is Steak and Kidney Pie. I don’t think I’ve had that since I was about 8 and my grandmother made it in the UK. The filling is simple enough: steak and lamb kidneys, both chopped roughly, finely chopped onion, and gravy powder, again left in the crock-pot to simmer overnight.

Here’s the finished product:

DSCN2374small

It’s just puff pastry from the shops (one day, I’m going to put up a post with home-made pastry…), and I did a double layer so they would stand up by themselves. I actually cooked them in saucepans lined with baking paper. There was a little filling left over, so I made little baby pies:

DSCN2375small

I don’t know if you can see the letters on the top: BC for Butter Chicken and SK for Steak and Kidney. Here’s a close-up of a baby Steak and Kidney pie:

DSCN2376small

 

I might add some more pictures tomorrow afternoon, if I remember to take some as the pies are served.

 

 

One thought on “This Weekend’s Food

  1. Ruth Hay says:

    And the little ones were really yummy. Thank you Rachel

Leave a Reply

