12 Steps to Chicken Korma

If anyone has any particular aversion to the idea of animals being raised, killed and eaten, you had better stop reading now. But take comfort in knowing the lunch’s sisters are alive and happy and well-looked-after.

If anyone is reading this who eats meat but hasn’t really thought about where that meat comes from, then by all means, keep reading.

If you just want to cook, and don’t care about where your meat comes from, just scroll down to Step 7.

I’ve blogged about eating birds from my own yard before, as well as the somewhat slightly related topic of hunting. Today, I’m going to tell you about our lunch. Right from the beginning.

Step 1

Maybe that’s too far back. I think I’m going to have to make this post M-rated.

I’m not voyeuristic. Those aren’t my birds. I got that picture from the internet. Which, I just realised, means I now have an internet history of looking for pictures of chook sex.

Moving on (the rest are my own pictures)…

Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at the colour of that thigh meat! This is what you get when a bird has spent its whole life free-ranging in the fresh air and sunshine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 7: Dice the meat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 8: Add chopped onions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 9: Mix the spices – turmeric, coriander, cumin, pepper, chilli, cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. The recipe also called for fenugreek, but I’m not sure what that is or whether you can even get it here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 10: Add coconut milk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 11: Pour over chicken and stir. Cook on low overnight (did I mention this was a crock pot meal?). Add chopped vegetables (I used broccoli, cauliflower, sweet potato and carrot) in the morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 12: Serve for lunch with rice, garlic naan, and lassi.

2 thoughts on “12 Steps to Chicken Korma

  1. Rachel says:

    thanks for cooking this, Rachel. It was very yummy!

Leave a Reply

