The Wiggles

Ghabh mi an t-òraid seo an àth earrainn. Bha am topaic “còmhlan ceòl”, tha mise a’ smaoineachadh (chan eil cuimhne agam gu mionaideach).

Bidh mi ag innse dhaibh mu na Wiggles ceart. ‘S e còmhlan air an telebhisean a th’ ann na Wiggles. Tha clann beag a’ sealltain air na Wiggles, agus bha mi a’ sealltain orra ‘n uair a bha mi òg. ‘S e còmhlan ceòl a th’ ann na Wiggles. Tha iad a’ seinn “Toot Toot, Chugga Chugga, Big Red Car”, “D-O-R-O-T-H-Y”, “Fruit Salad, Yummy, Yummy”, “Hot Potato, Hot Potato”, agus oràin eile.

Ach chan eil na Wiggles a-nis na Wiggles ceart. ‘N uair a bha mi òg, bha na Wiggles Jeff, Greg, Anthony, agus Murray – na Wiggles ceart. ‘S e na Wiggles Classic a th’ annta. Bha Philip ann na Wiggles Original cuideachd. Ach chan eil Jeff, Greg, agus Murray anns a’ chòmhlan a-nis. ‘S e Anthony, Emma, Simon, agus Lachlan a th’ ann a-nis. Tha Dorothy the Dinosaur, Wags the Dog, Henry the Octopus, agus Captain Feathersword ann cuideachd.

‘S e còmhlan ainmeil a th’ ann na Wiggles ann Astràilia ach tha mi ag ionndrainn na Wiggles ceart.

Na Wiggles Ceart (The Real Wiggles)

Na Wiggles “Ur” (The “New” Wiggles)


Na Wiggles Original – The Original Wiggles – in 1991!

And here’s the translation:

This is one of my monologues from last semester. The topic was “music group”, I think (I can’t remember exactly).

I’m going to talk to you about the real Wiggles. The Wiggles are a group on television. Small children watch the Wiggles, and I watched them when I was young. They’re a music group. They sing “Toot Toot, Chugga Chugga, Big Red Car”, “D-O-R-O-T-H-Y”, “Fruit Salad, Yummy Yummy”, “Hot Potato, Hot Potato”, and other songs.

But the Wiggles now aren’t the real Wiggles. When I was young, the Wiggles were Jeff, Greg, Anthony, and Murray – the real Wiggles. The “Classic Wiggles”, if you will. There was a Philip in the Original Wiggles as well. But Jeff, Greg, and Murray aren’t in the group now. It’s Anthony, Emma, Simon, and Lachlan that are in the group now. Dorothy the Dinosaur, Wags the Dog, Henry the Octopus, and Captain Feathersword are in it, too.

The Wiggles are a famous group in Australia, and I miss the real Wiggles.

I’m translating pretty much literally, which is a little encouraging, because even as I was translating “Ceilidhs and Bush Dances”, I thought, “My Gaelic sounds like baby talk”. But I wrote this one in March – a little less than six months ago – and I’ve definitely improved since then. My sentences are longer, if nothing else.

3 thoughts on “The Wiggles

  1. I can’t comment on your Gaelic, but I can say that I only know the “Na Wiggles Ceart.” I didn’t know about the “Ur”.

  2. Rachel says:

    Sam replaced Greg in 2006 – he had MS or something similar and was too sick to continue, and my friends and I were much more upset than 11-year-olds should be at the time. Emma and Lachlan arrived in 2012, so they’re a recent thing.

    My sister can actually get quite upset that our youngest cousin only knows the New Wiggles (or, as she calls, them, the Fake Wiggles). I agree. I mean, I actually haven’t watched much of the New Wiggles, so I suppose they can’t be too bad, but even so…

    I suppose you might still have just Classic Wiggles DVDs in America. I remember seeing a shelf of them at a checkout somewhere in the US and getting insanely excited about it – I had no idea they were even popular over there.

  3. […] Òraid 11.03.2015 – Na Wiggles […]

Leave a Reply

