Bible Verse Challenge Week 3 – John 3:16 (Greek)

The Bible Verse ChallengeI know I said there were some verses I’d be avoiding because it would be just too obvious that I already knew them, but after prompting by the Professor in the margin of my textbook, I decided to give the Greek a go. I’m not sure whether to count it in the total twenty verses because I already know it in English.

Οϋτως γάρ ήγάπησεν ό Θεός τον κοσμον
ώστε τόν υίόν μονογενή έδωκεν
ϊνα πάς ό πιστεύων είς αύτόν
μή άγόληται άλλ’ έχηι ζωήν αίώνιον

Κατα Ίωαννην 3:16

As those who can read Greek have no doubt noticed on previous posts, I can’t work out who to get all the right accents in there. This time I also have a problem with the iota-subscript under the eta in “έχηι”, so I’ve written it with an actual iota.

Here’s a pronunciation guide. A line over the letter indicates a long vowel, so “ō” is a long “oh” (as in “home”), while “o” is a short “o” (as in “pot”). The same goes for e, so “e” is a short “e” (as in “pet”), while “ē” is a long “e” such as doesn’t really occur in Australian, RP, or American pronunciation, but you can probably recognise it from just about every other dialectal accent – think of how Gwen from Torchwood says “mate”. “Ei” and “au” are as pronounced in German, “ou” as pronounced in French, and everyone I’ve spoken to seems to have a different opinion on “eu”, so do what you like with that.

houtōs gar ēgapēsen ho theos ton kosmon
hōste ton hwion monogenē edōken
hina pas ho pisteuōn eis auton
mē apolētai al ekhē zoēn aiōnion

kata iōannen

Leave a Reply

