The First Day – An Evening in Israel (Tel Aviv)

So, what’s the best part about being in Israel (with all the wisdom of having been here a few minutes more than twelve hours)?

Well, this evening, for dessert at dinner, I ate a strawberry cheesecake topped with cream and mousse… and not a single thought about whether I’d feel dreadfully ill shortly after.

And even better, I got to listen to several other people around me marvelling about how it tasted like food, even though it didn’t have milk in it.

So, dinner was great. Yuval has explained that dinner is usually meaty while breakfast is usually milky (mostly cheese-based, apparently). For those who don’t know, kosher requirements include not eating pork, shellfish, or blood, and not allowed meat and milk anywhere near each other. So dinner was entirely dairy-free, including the dairy-looking desserts.

I’m a little concerned about breakfast, but I’ll deal with that when it happens. Besides, Yuval said the dairy bits should be obvious and easily-avoidable.

This evening, with some time still left to kill after a walk to the beach and taking lots of pictures of the hotel room and blogging them, I watched Bob the Builder. As I’m sure my parents will attest, it’s an old standby for watching in foreign languages and countries, even if it’s the murdered new version and not real Bob.

01 - Bob B

I wasn’t quite quick enough to get the Bob logo, but that’s an episode title.

01 - Bob A

I’ve learnt a new phrase (if “learnt” is the right word here): “Oi lo!” It means “Oh, no!” Yeah, I couldn’t understand much. I’m not convinced modern Hebrew is as different as they say to Biblical Hebrew, since I did understand most of the words I knew. It’s helped tune my ear a bit more too the language, anyway.

A funny thing, though – okay, so in English, the phrase is “yes, we can”. In German, it’s “ja, wir schaffen” [“yes, we can”]. In Hebrew, it’s “ken, ken, ken” [“yes, yes, yes”]. What gives?

Well, we’re all flagging a lot, so it’s off to bed now we’ve persevered to 8pm without sleeping. Here’s a quick panorama out the hotel room window to finish up for the first day in Israel:

02 - Window Panorama

9 thoughts on “The First Day – An Evening in Israel (Tel Aviv)

  1. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  2. Ruth Hay says:

    Hope you slept well.

  3. Ruth Hay says:

    Yay for Bob the Builder! Maybe now we can sing the tune in Hebrew not German!

  4. Helen Hayes says:

    hope you get a decent sleep tonight.. And thanks for all the pictures of the hotel room and other pictures.

  5. astraya says:

    How much Hebrew can you read/understand/speak?

    • Rachel says:

      I can read more than I can speak or understand. It helps knowing the alphabet. If I see a word and recognise the consonants, I can pronounce it (for example, I’ve seen Y-L-D-Y-M a few times, which is “yelediym”, or “children”), but if I don’t recognise the consonants, I can’t pronounce it really or know what it says. The vocab in the OT doesn’t really transfer very well to general daily usage, so I understand, for example, “anakhnu” (we/us) but then not the rest of the sentence, which is verbs and nouns I haven’t learnt. There are only a few signs I understand everything on, like the “non-drinking water” sign – although there was another one that said “call-button” and I understood the root vowels for “call” – it was written Q-R-Y-Y-H, and “call” is “qarah”.

    • Rachel says:

      I’m also seeing ?-S around a lot, which is “esh”, or “fire”. Some words are phonetically transcribed – for example, the “tea and coffee” picture I took, which is written Q-F-H T-H. I’ve noticed that alef (silent) and ayin (glottal stop are used for A, ayin (glottal stop) and he (H) are used for E, yod (J/Y) is used for I, and vav (V/W) is used for O and U. These last two happen in Biblical Hebrew, too, as vowels. My name at the café yesterday was written R-Y-Y-Z-L, which was mildly distressing, but I suppose I did pronounce it the English way. Still, I’d have preferred it written R-C-L and pronounced the Hebrew way.

Leave a Reply

