More Fruitless Thinking About Languages

Why is it that I have more e-mails in my inbox in Welsh than I do in Gaelic? And I have none in German, French, or Hebrew. Even from my Hebrew teacher, whom I e-mailed in Hebrew but who replied in English.

InboxAh, anyway. Chan eil fìos agam gun robh mi ag ràdh mu dheidhinn anns mo bhlog seo, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it on the blog, ach cha d’fhuair mi nòtaichean math às am measadh Mòdal a Trì agus chan eil mi a’ dhèanam h n Cùrsa Adhartais a-nis. Tha mi an dòchas gun tòiseach mi an cùrsa a-rithist ann an September (le cobhair Dè!).

Meanwhile, I’m no longer studying Greek (such a relief!) but I’m doing modern Hebrew at WEA, which is fun, because at least 50% of it is talking; but also a little odd, because with a year of Biblical Hebrew under my belt, I’m definitely ahead of the class. It’s useful practicing the talking, but most of the time, it’s more like I’m being reminded of stuff I already know than actually learning at this point. But still fun!

Le weekend passé, j’ai parlé un peu de français à la homeschool bush dance. “Ah, Rachelle, comment ça va?”

“Euh… Bien, merci…”

“Parles-tu beaucoup du français maintenant?”

“Euh… Non… Non, je ne parle rien du français. Mais… mais hier… hier j’ai cherché au YouTube pour le vidéo du OuestJet, le vidéo du Poisson d’Avril du OuestJet… c’était très drôle.”

Yes, you may wince in horror at my French abilities there.

Nous avons parlé un petit peu en français et puis, ma famille est arrivée. Ma maman ne peut parler du français et ma soeur peut entender un peu. Ma pére a dis EN ANGLAIS qu’il AVAIT parlé du français bien. Et donc, je ne peut pas parler en plus en français.

Jeudi j’ai entendu mon amie parlent en français avec son père. Elle a étudié le français avec le même professeur mais l’année avant moi et elle parle COURAMMENT. C’est déprimant.

C’est évident: je dois pratique le français en plus. En quelque sorte. Je ne sais pas quoi.

Und auch muss ich Deutsch üben. Ich hab’ das schon gesagt. Ach jetzt sprech’ ich immer noch kein Deutsch. Jemals.

So what now? Nothing can change, really, since I’m barely keeping up with schoolwork as it is. My New Years’ Resolution for this year was to stop running after every shiny new language that caught my eye and focus on ones I already knew. Well, that worked, since I did a Welsh intensive in February. I’m still eyeing off a couple of new languages for next year, such as Kaurna… and a friend has suggested we might do WEA Farsi together next year. At least I’d be able to speak Gaelic, Welsh and Hebrew with her, though.

That’s probably enough fruitless musing about my linguistic failings. I’ve a lecturer pestering me about an essay…

 

One thought on “More Fruitless Thinking About Languages

  1. Trippmadam says:

    Ach, das wird schon. Sie sind noch jung und haben noch viel Zeit, um Deutsch zu lernen. Wenn man jung ist, möchte man alles auf einmal haben, aber das geht leider nicht. Die deutsche Sprache wird zu Ihnen kommen, nach und nach.

Leave a Reply

